After more than a dozen years as an Environmental Lobbyist, Mike was elected to the office of County Supervisor in 2014 and today he serves as the Board's chair. Mike brought his talents to the Johnson County Board of Supervisors to address our local issues from a sustainable perspective—environmentally, economically, and with social justice.

After a series of significant accomplishments in his first term, Mike is seeking a second term in 2018 to build on his accomplishments. A detailed series of accomplishments and policy proposals on issues he wants to work on in a second term are listed in another section of the website.

Mike was raised in Newhall, Iowa (Benton County). His father worked as a large animal veterinarian and his mother was an elementary school teacher. Mike has four brothers and four sisters in a five generation Iowa family.

Mike’s family moved to Johnson County in 1976.  He worked at A&A Coins & Collectables, his family’s coin, stamp, and antiques business during high school and college. He graduated from Regina High School in 1979, and then the University of Iowa in Business Administration in 1983.

Mike Carberry (2).jpg

A Democrat Making a Difference

After school, Mike worked in radio, music, and publicity. In the 1990s, Mike discovered a passion for environmental causes and began volunteer work to address climate change policy. That led to establishing Green State Solutions, his environmental advocacy and consulting firm. He has lobbied state and national environmental organizations to implement better environmental and energy policy in both Iowa and at the national level, through outreach, organizing, and policy advocacy.

Mike has served in several positions in the fields of renewable energy and sustainability, including as the Executive Director of the Iowa Renewable Energy Association; Midwestern Nuclear Campaign Coordinator for Friends of the Earth; Senior Regional Field Director with the Iowa Global Warming Campaign; and Campaign Manager for Citizens for Public Power. He helped write and pass the Johnson County Wind Turbine Ordinances before his election to the Board.

In his volunteer efforts, Mike was involved in the restoration of the Englert Theatre in Iowa City, also working for a period as the Benefit Director there. Mike’s interest in the environment is shown through other volunteer endeavors. He has served many roles with the Sierra Club, including Chairperson for the Iowa City Area Group, and member of the State of Iowa Chapter Executive Committee. He also served as a core team member of the Sierra Club’s Nuclear-Free Campaign. He was awarded the 2013 Environmental Activist of the Year award from the State Chapter of the Sierra Club.


  • 1000 Friends of Iowa: Board of Directors
  • 2nd Congressional Democrats : District Central Committee
  • ACLU
  • Boy Scouts of America: Eagle Scout
  • Bur Oak Land Trust
  • Community Transportation Committee (CTC): Board of Directors
  • County Johnson Irish
  • East Central Iowa Council of Governments (ECICOG): Board of Directors
  • Field to Family: Advisory Board
  • Fraternal Order of Eagles (F.O.E.)
  • Iowa Alliance for Responsible Agriculture (IARA)
  • Iowa Asian & Latino Coaltion
  • Iowa Citizens for Community Improvement (ICCI)
  • Iowa City Area Chamber of Commerce: Former Board of Directors
  • Iowa City Area Development Group (ICAD): Board of Directors
  • Iowa City Coralville Area Convention & Visitors Bureau: Board of Directors
  • Iowa City Federation of Labor
  • Iowa Democratic Party: State Central Committee
  • Iowa Environmental Council
  • Iowa Farmers Union: Former Board of Directors
  • Iowa Sierra Club: Executive Committee
  • Iowa Wind Energy Association (IWEA):  Board of Directors
  • Johnson County Affordable Housing Coalition
  • Johnson County Democrats: Former Chairperson
  • Johnson County Hunger Task Force
  • Johnson County League of Women Voters
  • League of United Latin American Citizens (LULAC)
  • Metropolitan Planning Organization of Johnson County (MPOJC): Board of Directors
  • Our Revolution
  • Rotary International
  • Sustainable Iowa Land Trust (SILT)
  • Teamsters Local 238: TeamCAN